4research

Research Blog for INF1240 Group 4 at The University of Toronto iSchool, Fall 2010

The constantly comparing master student

leave a comment »

Throughout the course of this semester I have found myself constantly relating everything back to my undergrad studies, I think it’s probably a natural reflex; a B.A. lays down a pretty large foundation for one’s academic endeavors. And so, once again, Yin’s article from last week’s class was familiar territory for me. The case study method is a popular research strategy in political science and falls under the rubric of comparative politics. In order to predict or explain certain political outcomes political scientists will use case studies to identify particular variables and patterns. I had never heard of Yin before, or his article in defense of the case study approach to research, but it would seem his article could have had a cross-disciplinary impact. I used the cross-case analysis myself, along with the most similar systems design, to write a research paper about migration patterns in Guatemala and El Salvador. I found the case study strategy appropriate to my analysis of national policies and international relations but I wonder how it will be on a smaller scale as I plan on doing for my research proposal. My undergrad research was all secondary and done within the confines of my own home whereas my proposed research project for this course involves (oh my god) talking to people. It will be interesting to see what it is like using the case study strategy for doing primary research.

Written by yasmin hartung

November 16, 2010 at 12:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment