4research

Research Blog for INF1240 Group 4 at The University of Toronto iSchool, Fall 2010

*insert profound title here*

leave a comment »

It’s the last week of blogs and I’ve sort of been running out of things to say lately. First of all I just wanted to talk about Knight Chapter 7. As I mentioned last week, the Knight readings have been much more concise and helpful in terms of where I want to go with my research. I found the charts really helpful in terms of putting my thoughts in order leading up to the final assignment. One of the things that really struck me in this reading were the responses to the 9 most common research problems. To begin, I find that I identify with the former in that I usually believe that if I set out to prove something and I spend all this time researching it, that it better be right and my thesis will be defended. Reading the Knight I realize that this is not the case and that all that I planned for will not be a waste if only I’m willing to change what I originally hoped to find. The responses to the other problems also helped me see that just because you hit a wall in the process, it doesn’t mean your research is effectively over. All of these are really helpful to me considering I plan on doing research with the poor/homeless/drug abusers in my library district and I may hit a few of the common snags because of the hit and miss nature of their time and availability. One last thing I wanted to point out however that I found really interesting was on p.169 in which a newspaper comments that people tell the researcher something that they feel is noble or respectable in the eyes of others (museum) rather than their true desire to fulfill more basic instincts (movies). From my limited amounts of research work in the past, this is something that I found to be particularly true, especially when the subject may potentially feel like they are being judged. In my case especially, considering the government employee/homeless patron relationship, I fear that the results I would receive if my research were to continue may be compromised in that way.

Written by mannyarroz

November 26, 2010 at 12:56 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment