4research

Research Blog for INF1240 Group 4 at The University of Toronto iSchool, Fall 2010

Research interest–it fell right on my lap!

with one comment

I’ll be honest, a week ago I had NO idea what I wanted to write my research proposal on or even what my “intellectual itch” was (Luker, 62). Then I got an email from the Ontario chapter of the Canadian Cancer Society’s (CCS) Public Issues Team. I’ve been volunteering with the Society for several years now and part of the reason I applied to the MI program was because of my experiences with them. I have seen how the CCS gathers and disseminates  information to then stop or promote certain practices, i.e. the push to pass right-to-know bylaws demanding businesses track and disclose their use of toxic substances, that can lead to small and big victories–legislation, awareness. Luker writes that in order to figure out your research interest you have to decide “who you are”, for a moment there I had forgotten who I was and what makes me “itch” (Luker, 62, 65). I am interested in how e-advocacy is being used by organizations like the CCS to create awarness and affect policy formulation and change. I have done some small preliminary searches to see what kind of literature is out there and it looks promising so far. I know I’ll have to narrow it down farther but for the moment I’m just happy to have remembered my interest!

Written by yasmin hartung

September 28, 2010 at 12:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fantastic Yasmin! A great topic and a wonderful (not to mention timely) epiphany!

    Sara Grimes

    September 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm


Leave a comment